encouragement

The Old Rugged Cross

The lyrics to this have been on my mind all afternoon. 
On a hill far away stood an old rugged cross,  The emblem of suff’ring and shame,

And I love that old cross where the Dearest and Best

  For a world of lost sinners was slain.

  So I’ll cherish the old rugged cross,

Till my trophies at last I lay down;

I will cling to the old rugged cross,

  And exchange it some day for a crown.

2

Oh, that old rugged cross, so despised by the world,

  Has a wondrous attraction for me;

For the dear Lamb of God left His glory above,

  To bear it to dark Calvary.

3

In the old rugged cross, stained with blood so divine,

  A wondrous beauty I see;

For ’twas on that old cross Jesus suffered and died,

  To pardon and sanctify me.

There is a 4th verse to that song.

4. To the old rugged cross, I will ever be true.

It’s shame and reproach gladly bear.

Then He’ll call me someday to my home far away;

Where His Glory forever I’ll share.

Leave a Reply

